California  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
6/12/09, 3:59 pm

Legal Question


Renter/Roommate Apartment Deposit

Upon signing a one year lease with my

roommate, a double deposit was made on

behalf both my roommate and I for the

amount of 1,450 (each). Our one year lease

has expired on April 1st and we our currently

on a month-month. I have decided to move

out and in doing so I gave my roommate and

leasing manager a 30-day notice with my

move out day of Jul 5th. My roommate has

decided to stay but refuses to give me my

deposit back. My leasing manager said he

would be the one to have to write me a

check in the amount of 1,450 if he's not

moving out yet. But, my roommate refuses

to do so. He says I'm liable to find him a new

roommate and he doesn't have the money to

give to me nor does he think he's responsible

to do so. If I were to take him to small claims

court, would I win my case?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search