California | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
rv park landlord was doing electrical work, caused a surge. is he responsible for damages to my televisions, microwave, phone, etc.?
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Marcia S Wertenberger |
Most likely he is responsible if he did not give notice of electrical work, which always has the potential to cause problems such as potential surges or interruptions in electricity. He should have shut down all the breakers serving the different locations prior to any work. Given what you have said it is HIGHLY unlikely he is a licensed eletrician - no real electrician would have taken the risk of working on live wires! I am fairly certain that it s illegal for an unlicenced party to work on major electrical systems serving a group of homes or businesses. The best way to check is to contact the California Contractors Board an make a complaint - they have a consumer hotline plus tons of info on the website. Be sure you have all this documented - dates times witnesses - you will first have to send a demand letter certified return receipt to the person who did the work and demand the money you think you are owed - if he refuses to pay you can take him to small claims court - if he i the employee of the owner of the park be sure sue the owners of the park also and management company if there is any. Naming the right parties is crucial - so be sure to have the names all right. Be sure to kep the damaged items also. Good luck to you
|
|
Read More Answered By: Daniel Bakondi |
Maybe. how many people did this happen to?
Daniel Bakondi, Esq. danielbakondi@yahoo.com 415-450-0424 The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi 870 Market Street, Suite 1161 San Francisco CA 94102 San Francisco Litigation Attorney IMPORTANT NOTICE: This communication may contain confidential information, privileged information, or attorney work product. If you are not the intended recipient or received this message in error, any use or distribution of this message is strictly prohibited and unlawful. Please notify the sender immediately, and delete this message. No attorney-client nor confidential relationship is created through this communication. Nothing communicated or provided constitutes legal advice nor a legal opinion unless it so specifies and written agreement for attorney services has been entered into. Your issue may be time sensitive and may result in loss of rights if you do not act in time. Thank you. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Scott H. Linden, Esq.
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1120
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-19
Law Offices of Anne Marie Healy
Santa Ana, CA
Questions Answered: 843
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-20
Law Offices of Roy A. Hoffman
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Search Questions and Answers


