I am a tenant in California who needed to pay my rent late. I got a three day notice to pay or quit, i let the company know i would be paying in full in the next few days but not within the three days. I fully intended to pay the full amount along with a 60 late fee. the company then tacked on a $590 "litigation fee" that i had to pay along with past due rent and and $60 late fee. Mind you, my rent was not 30 days late. Is that "litigation" fee legal? can i get that money back? no court date was even scheduled!!
1 Answer from Attorneys
Actually, the landlord did not have to accept your rent once the three days in the three day pay or quit expired. At that point the landlord could have filed an unlawful detainer action against you and had you evicted.
Related Questions & Answers
My husband and I have rented from in-laws for 24 years. We are divorcing and he... Asked 10/19/13, 8:44 pm in United States California Landlord & Tenants
Can my apartment complex charge me their attorney fees after filing for eviction if... Asked 10/18/13, 11:15 pm in United States California Landlord & Tenants
I live in California. I have a roommate who has been yelling at me from the kitchen... Asked 10/18/13, 9:32 am in United States California Landlord & Tenants
ON MON OCT 21st I WILL BE GOING TO JURY TRIAL AGAINST MY LANLORD FOR UNLAWFULL... Asked 10/17/13, 6:35 pm in United States California Landlord & Tenants
I'm renting a single family home in Oakland, California. My lease was a 6 month... Asked 10/16/13, 7:42 pm in United States California Landlord & Tenants