California | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
what type of rights do i have if im a renter and my landloard was not paying his mortage and the house went into forecloser what can i do he never told me any thing at all
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Larry L. Doan |
You are obligated to pay the current landlord rent until the house is actually sold off at the foreclosure sale. So, you should continue paying him the rent until then. However, after that, you are no longer obligated to pay him the rent, but pay the new owner, which could even be the bank.
Under new federal law, effective on May 20, 2009, if you have a fixed-term lease (like a one-year), you cannot be forced to move even after the property has been sold through foreclosure until the end of the terms of the lease or 90 days, whichever is later. If your lease is a month-to-month, you also have 90 days to move out. If the property is sold at foreclosure to an owner who plans to occupy the property, then you have 90 days to move.
|
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Scott H. Linden, Esq.
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1120
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-19
Law Offices of Anne Marie Healy
Santa Ana, CA
Questions Answered: 843
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-20
Law Offices of Roy A. Hoffman
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Search Questions and Answers


