California  |  Legal Ethics

question bubble
3/23/09, 6:33 pm

Legal Question


Law Office Got the Wrong Person

My husband received a letter

addressed to his name and

company from a law office.

Inside was a summons that a

company by a similar name in

another city was being sued. We

quickly figured out

that the law office got the company

name and address wrong on the

outside of the envelope. There is

another company by a similar name

in the same city as the law office

who is actually the defendant, but

for some reason they sent the

summons to my husband. It is a

clear mistake because the address

on the outside (ours) is different

from the one listed on the

summons. We thought this was a

simple fix, but when my husband

called the law office to let them

know, they refused to hear him out

and said there was no way they

could have made a mistake, and

they were not allowed to speak to

the defendant. The plaintiff is

1000miles away from us, anyone

who looks at the document would

know they got the wrong person.

My question is, is there someone

else we can contact (courts?) since

the law office would not hear him

out? Since my husband's name is

not actually listed on the document

(just the envelope) would it matter

if we just ignored it from here?

Thanks!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search