California  |  Legal Malpractice

question bubble
9/30/06, 6:23 am

Legal Question


Legal Mal Attorney Search Headache or Heartache

I have a complex legal mal action (as PL).

To preserve the statute it was filed in pro per. The same attorney who assited in preparing the complaint was whom I chose to rep the case.

The new atty has had my orignal files sitting in his ofc, not returning calls or emails for over 8-wks.

Today I demanded a response. His asst called, he's too tired up on a fed case to give my case the attn req. I was emotionally devastated!

A retainer wasn't sign. There was a verbal agr'mt.

The 60-days to serve has lapsed, and the status conf is less than 30-days.

I have no intent to serve or appear in pro per.

I can't understand when the case is already legal mal, how the new atty can do this. He knows I won't be able to retain another atty overnight.

Is there no conscious?

The former atty didn't only blow a case, but personally destroyed me emotionally and financially.

How can I successfully find another atty at this stage and one I can trust that won't cause further distress?

Is it too late to serve? What if I can't find an atty before the status conf?

I can't walk away. The former atty caused too much damage.

The legal mal case has already taken a toll emotionally and financially.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search