California  |  Legal Malpractice

question bubble
3/21/01, 6:19 pm

Legal Question


Receipt of funds for client

I am trying to find the section of law that pertains to how an attorney is supposed to handle the receipt and depositing of a clients' settlement funds received in a personal injury matter. My understanding is that an attorney is supposed to deposit funds into a trust account. Can you fax or e-mail to me the section that describes how an attorney is supposed to handle. My attorney signed my name on the settlement check and then refused to properly disperse those funds. I reported this forgery to the police but the attorney says that he has power of attorney according to the retainer agreement. The funds were never deposited to a trust account.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search