California | Legal Malpractice
Legal Question
Settlement check
Scenario:
A simple personal injury case-about $1200 in medical bills that took over 2 years to settle and turned into a lawsuit because of attorney's negligance, including missed court dates, missed meetings with the claims adjuster, things not filed on time, etc. A settlement was finally reached and a check for $7500 was issued to me c/o the attorney. The attorney in question is now setting conditions about how the check will be dealt with and I don't get any of this money until I meet his demands to sign the check over to him and even at that point he writes that ''I will have to wait until the insurance check clears'' before I can deposit the check he will give me. This person has not instilled any trust in me due to his past performances. He has now had the check in his possesion since aprox. April 30, 2001. I want my money. What are my rights?


