California  |  Medical Malpractice

question bubble
9/18/09, 2:35 pm

Legal Question


I went to emergency for the flu and hospital's policy is that you must have an IV in you before being admitted. Three nurses were unsuccessful in putting the IV in my arm. My aunt was in the room at the time, but she and the nurse were instructed to leave. An emergency room doctor proceeded to insert an IV in my femal artery as he read instructions on how to do this. This was extremely painful. I was quarantined for 48 hours days because they thought I had TB. That was cleared. The doctor determined I had the flu, so I was sent me home. As soon as I got home, my leg throbbed and within 2 days it was swollen so bad I couldn't wear normal pants or shoes. At my follow up appt the next day, my regular doctor immediately sent me to emergency for an ultrasound. They determined I had a blood clot from my knee cap to my groin. I was in the hospital for 2 1/2 months with my leg elevated and on on blood thinners. I was discharged and sent home for another 2 months to recuperate using crutches. After 1 year of blood thinners, the leg was still bruised and swollen, but I was taken off blood thinners. Now, two years later I cut my leg and for 8 months it did not heal. I reported to my doctor every two weeks something was wrong and I was given percoset and a band aid. I returned to the same hospital and was told by the surgeon the leg was healing albeit slowly. My general doc referred to a vascular surgeon who has told me I have 5 blood clots that are result of the first blood clot. I then had surgery to close 3 veins because of the embedded blood clots. I am in constant pain and now disabled. Do I have any recourse against the emergency room or hospital?


Experienced California Attorneys

At the Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi we handle most types of Personal Injury Cases and Tort cases including: automobile, truck, motorcycle, pedestrian, bike, and slip and fall accidents, dog bites, wrongful death, legal malpractice, medical malpractice and products liability cases. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call 1-800-LAW-TALK.

For more information visit us at EBLegal.com


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search