California  |  Medical Malpractice

question bubble
2/25/09, 2:11 am

Legal Question


Poor results from an ear surgery

I had surgery to remove a boney exostosis (surfer's ear) 22 Mar, 07. Two options exist: 1) go in through the ear canal and chisel out the bone growth, 2) cut the ear from behind, pull forward to reveal the ear canal, and drill out the growths. My Dr. assured me that the second option (cutting the ear from behind) was the only safe route. He told me that there isn't enough room to do the other procedure, it was dangerous, and that if you use that procedure, the growths may likely come back. I chose his recommended procedure. I have since found option 1 seems completely effective, it is a completely acceptable procedure and used frequently.

As a result, I have very excessive scaring in the back of my ear that pushes my ear out, constant, loud ringing that distracts me from my work (I'm an engineer), and have some numbness and tingling in the side of my head. When I was healing, I tried to schedule an appt due to a discharge. I was told over the phone it was 'normal'. I called again and they finally took me in to find I had an infection on my eardrum. I've always suspected this may have impacted the healing.

I would have chosen the less invasive option 1 had I been presented un-skewed information.

Do I have options?


Experienced California Attorneys

At the Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi we handle most types of Personal Injury Cases and Tort cases including: automobile, truck, motorcycle, pedestrian, bike, and slip and fall accidents, dog bites, wrongful death, legal malpractice, medical malpractice and products liability cases. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call 1-800-LAW-TALK.

For more information visit us at EBLegal.com


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search