California  |  Military Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 2/27/04, 11:48 am

HIV,drug use and Other Than Honorable Discharge

In 1986 while serving in the Navy I was diagnosed with HIV.I was re-assigned to duty in Calif. It was a tremendous blow to me.I was never given proper medical attention (mentally)and it really had an affect on me.I re-enlisted against the Navys wishes.Things happened after that which encluded threats to go to my Congressmen because of the way I was being treated.Not long past and I was brought up on drug charges which were false.I knew of drug use in my dept. and refused to rat out my fellow sailors which I feel was the reason for the charges.I was awarded Brig time and a reduction in pay grade and afterwards sent to another command as a Gate Guard.

I was told I would never get to do what I was trained for again.I was very young and confused and was unsure as to my future in the Navy.I told them I wanted out and they gladly gave me an OTH.Even though it has been determined by the VA that I contracted HIV while in the service and am now getting medical attention for the virus a lot remains unresolved.I cannot forget what happened and never will.I would like to know if I can get my case re-opened.I do have more information for you guys if needed.Please help me.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

174 Answers given in the last few hours.

7528 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search