California  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
7/28/05, 9:04 pm

Legal Question


Is an endorsed check with liability release for damages legal?

A tenant of mine fell off a ladder injuring her knee.

she is on Disability & SSI with no employment. We came to a monetary agreement to avoid litigation. I wrote a check with ''endorsing this releases me from any action against me''.She cashed it then, 2 days later I am served with a complaint asking in excess of 5 million $.Note that the complaint was dated 30 days prior to our agreement.

She is seeking lost wages, yet had none at the time of the incident. She has admitted ''blame '' to other tenants. Ladder was not meant to be used on a regular basis, only to access storage loft, a fact she was aware of. What I really want to know is,is the agreement on the check a legal binding contract?


Experienced Personal Injury Attorneys

The Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi has over 20 years of experience helping victims of automobile, motorcycle, pedestrian, slip-and-fall accidents and much more all over California. We can help you recover for your pain and suffering and other losses and expenses. No recovery No fee. Visit our website or call us for a free consultation about your case at 1-800-LAW-TALK.

Find Experienced Personal Injury Attorneys


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search