California  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
6/07/02, 2:11 pm

Legal Question


How much can my health insurance recover from me in a settlement?

Hello,

I was involved in an accident that the police said was my fault.

The other party's insurance has sent me a letter saying they consider themselves 10% at fault.

Recently, they made me a settlement offer for $5000 which represents 5% fault on their client. My medical expenses are $20,000+, and they filed liens with the car insurance company that made me an offer. My question is how much can they take from my $5000 settlement? Are they only allowed 5% of their $20,000, since 5% of my entire claim was what was paid to me, or are they allowed to take the entire $5000?


Experienced Mesothelioma Attorneys - SEG Law

Simon, Eddins & Greenstone, LLP, (SEG Law) is one of the country's most prominent trial law firms specializing in representing victims of cancer caused from exposure to hazardous substances such as asbestos. The firm was built on a shared passion to diligently and compassionately serve each client through every step of the legal process.

For more information visit us at SEGlaw.com


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search