Legal Question in Personal Injury in California

I was rear ended by a rented car from Hertz. That driver didn't have prior coverage, so they purchased insurance from Hertz. Hertz is self insured. They say their car is covered, but mine is not. They have offered to pay $5000. in damages on my truck. The Hertz adjuster has written an estimate for $9000. Hertz says there customers are not required (in the state of California) to purchase insurance for the second party. The Hertz driver admitted fault and was cited. There were no injuries. I want Hertz to be responsible for all damages and to provide a vehicle while mine is being repaired. I'm at a loss as what action to take. Can you help me please?

Asked on 5/10/12, 9:23 am

Experienced Personal Injury Attorneys

The Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi has over 20 years of experience helping victims of automobile, motorcycle, pedestrian, slip-and-fall accidents and much more all over California. We can help you recover for your pain and suffering and other losses and expenses. No recovery No fee. Visit our website or call us for a free consultation about your case at 1-800-LAW-TALK.

Find Experienced Personal Injury Attorneys

1 Answer from Attorneys

Joshua Hale Hale Law Group
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Your policy likely has what is called uninsured or under-insured coverage. That is where I would start. Give my office a call, and I will be happy to help you.

Read more
5/10/12, 12:23 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Personal Injury Law and Tort Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88273 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Personal Injury Law and Tort Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now