California | Product Liability
Legal Question
Who is liable for damages when there was no written contract ?
On Friday night 3/30/01 my son rented the use of a gym for a dance party - he paid $2000 cash for 5 hours rental. It was a spur of the moment affair so no contract was shown or signed, nor did he receive a receipt. During the party $600 of damage was done to some equipment. My son is just 17 (not legal) so the owner called me yesterday 4/9/01 and stated that if I did not come in by 4/11/01 and pay the $600 that he would start legal proceedings against me. I am at a loss as to MY rights in this deal - morally it is my (my sons) bill and I do realize that the renting of the gym is basically an ''implied'' contract - so he did rent the space and therfore the equipment within . But I would think that the gym has insurance to repair their equipment and I am a little concerned that the owner is only taking cash - with no receipts - for these events. Please advise
Experienced California Attorneys
At the Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi we handle most types of Personal Injury Cases and Tort cases including: automobile, truck, motorcycle, pedestrian, bike, and slip and fall accidents, dog bites, wrongful death, legal malpractice, medical malpractice and products liability cases. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call 1-800-LAW-TALK.


