California | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
i currently have a 18 month lease on the home i am renting, and just found out that the house is in forclosure. what are my right?
harry park
i currently have a 18 month lease on the home i am renting, and just found out that the house is in forclosure. what are my right?
harry park
|
Read More Answered By: David Gibbs |
While your rights are important, you should be aware that what will happen from a practical perspective is entirely different. Rather than go through a very long, complex series of what is going to happen, I will point you to an article on my firm's website entitled "Foreclosure and Tenants Update [amended]." You can find it on the front page of our website at www . gibbslaw . com. If you have further questions, feel free to email me directly.
*Due to the limitations of the LawGuru Forums, The Gibbs Law Firm, APC's (the "Firm") participation in responding to questions posted herein does not constitute legal advice, nor legal representation of the person or entity posting a question. No Attorney/Client relationship is or shall be construed to be created hereby. The information provided is general and requires that the poster obtain specific legal advice from an attorney. The poster shall not rely upon the information provided herein as legal advice nor as the basis for making any decisions of legal consequence. |
|
Read More Answered By: Melvin C. Belli |
Simple answer is under the new federal laws in place you lease is still valid until the expiration of its term if the owner loses the house in foreclosure. Keep checking to see if sale goes through. If sale goes through do not pay LL anymore and wait for bank to contact you. They need to send you a notice that they own house and to make payments to them. If you live in a. rent controlled area then they cannot evict you unless they have just caused and change in ownership due to foreclosure is not just cause.
|
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13879
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12203
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10403
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
► A friend has paid an initial fee of $1,000.00 for loan modification work. The...
► Owner is trying to back out from an approved short-sale transaction by claiming that...
► I have a question...my family and i are living in a new home witch is owned by my...
► Hello, We're currently past the escrow closing deadline. The main issue is that the...
► If there are two names on an automobile title, does either person have the right to...
► In Sept. '09, I successfully closed escrow on a two bdrm/two bathrm condo in Pinole,...
► What are the legal documents required to start a short sale with lender
More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press