California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
7/27/05, 9:45 pm

Legal Question


Family member as care taker left home of deceased

My sister took care of my mom for 6 years. After her death she continued to take care of our dad. After moms death he put my sisters name on the deed as owner of the house after his death for all the years of caretaking she gave. He was put into nursing home with demensia. Medicare and SSI took care of medical espenses. Dad died last Oct. now Medicare is coming after my sister for 200 thousand due for what they now claim to be the balance of the nursing home. The have asked for an accesment on the house. Can they do that? What actions can she take or where does she even start to taking care of this matter.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search