California | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Neighbor Fence issue
My neighbor and I have a cinderblock wall dividing the property line in the front yard. The wall is about 3 feet high and is finished; it has fancy stone pieces on the sides and a brick layer on the top. My I paid 41% of the cost for the wall.
Since the wall is finished, and around 3 feet high, we use it as a bench to sit down on during the spring/summer/fall months. However, my neighbor is placing lattices at an angle on his side and is growing some type of vine on it. The vine is dropping small red berries of some sort. Because the lattice is at an angle and the vine is causing the top of the fence to be dirty, we cannot sit on the parts of the fence with the lattice. My neighbor is slowly adding the lattice to cover the whole wall. Once he extends the lattice to cover the whole wall we will not be able to sit on wall.
Since we paid for almost half of it and will not be able to use it for our intended purpose (as a bench), are there any laws that I can cite to persuade him not cover the whole wall, and just keep what he has. My neighbor and I are not on speaking terms since he continually rung my doorbell to complain about little things (for example, so I doubt he will be persuaded easily


