California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
9/22/00, 3:24 pm

Legal Question


Tenant Deposit Disputes

A tenant borrowed money to pay her deposit on the lease. She was the only one who signed the lease. After she moved out, her ex-boyfriend now claims that the deposit money should go to him due to claimed nonrepayment of deposit to him by the tenant. The tenant claims that she had repaid him, in cash. He is presenting his canceled check as a receipt to the landlord and expects the deposit to be returned to him. The landlord is claiming that fair housing bureau insists that he would be a fool not to give the money to the exboyfriend but has not provided codes or documentation to be referred to.

Help?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search