California | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Terminating a lease
Though we understand breaking a lease is not very ethical, it may be necessary. If our landlord was made aware at the time we signed our 12 month lease that we were leasing only because we were in the process of loosing our home and now, due to a new law that went into effect October 1, we have the very real possibility of saving it with one of the new FHA loans, would we then be able to get out of our lease without incurring penalties. I read something on the lawguru site about an old law which basically states, if I understood it correctly, if you leased for a specific reason, with the knowlege of the landlord, and that reason no longer exists, you may be able terminate your lease without penalty. Would this apply in our case?


