California | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Title Insurance
I got a construction loan for land and construction,which was done thru escrow with a title Co.The land was paid thru escrow and the rest of the funds went to my Broker to disperse.These funds were marked ''LIP'.Which I found out later means ''loan in progress''.The escrow Co recorded this loan which was recorded for more than was funded.The Broker totally mismanaged the funds,and later I found out she had no Brokers license.She had a R.E.salespersons license only.Is the Title Co. responsible,and can I collect thru their title Ins? Also Brokers fees were paid in escrow to her.The construction could not be finished because the Broker could not account for the funds and the property was foreclosed for less than was originally recorded in escrow.I have made a complaint to the escrow co.Do I have a case?


