California | Securities Law
Legal Question
Stockholder Rights
A Sub S corp, does the company have any obligation to make distributions or dividends to provide for stockholders to pay taxes on income.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
Re: Stockholder Rights There is no such requirement in the statutes or case law that I know of, imposing a duty to make distributions or pay dividends to make shareholders whole for theirshare of the tax on an S corporation's earnings. Often, a shareholders' agreement will contain a provision effectively requiring the board to distribute profits at the highest marginal individual income-tax rate, or something of this ilk, to protect shareholders who don't control the purse strings. Absent such an agreement, it MIGHT be possible to sue and make a case based upon general minority-shareholder rights principles. I doubt it would work, absent a showing that the insider or controlling shareholders weredoing something else that was unfair, such as having the corporation employ them at excessive salaries (so they could pay their taxes), but research might turn up other examples where a no-payout policy was attacked and defeated. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
The Law Offices of H.M. Torrey
Mountain View, CA
Questions Answered: 2147
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-31
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Law Offices of Michael A. Olden
Moraga, CA
Questions Answered: 898
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-04-26
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 293
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Becker Attorneys
La Jolla, CA
Questions Answered: 147
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Office of Grenville Pridham
Tustin, CA
Questions Answered: 89
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-11
HONG & MASHAL, LLP
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-10
Search Questions and Answers


