California  |  Tax Law

question bubble
1/06/03, 11:22 pm

Legal Question


Employer Will Not Provide W-2 Forms

Last November, the company I worked for went out of business. Today, I was told by a former co-worker, that the head of payables for the company had told him that we probably won't get a W-2 form. I had previously been told by the HR manager that we would get one.

It should be noted, that while the old company is defunct, the principals of the company are still there with an answering machine giving out a new company name.

It seems to me that we should still be able to get our W-2 forms. What can we do about this? And what penalty, if any, is there against the employer?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search