Legal Question in Tax Law in California

I want to place my home that I own into a Living Trust, however, I do not want to loose Proposition 13 that I've had for a long time. ( Proposition 13 is a tax law that raises property taxes no more that 10% yearly)

Asked on 8/22/09, 8:50 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert F. Cohen Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You should talk to a tax advisor. Generally, when a property is placed into the owner's revocable trust, it does not lose its tax basis.

Read more
Answered on 8/23/09, 1:54 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Tax and Taxation Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Tax and Taxation Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now