California  |  Traffic Law

question bubble
11/22/05, 5:07 am

Legal Question


motorcycle accident, no insurance, under $750 (?!?)

In June I was involved in motorcycle accident (I'm the biker, at fault). As the police report confirms, the other car had a minor scratch on the rear bumper. At the time, I did not had insurance for the bike. I had insurance for my car, but not the recently acquired bike which was supposed to be covered for the first 30 days by my car insurance (but it was not). I got ticketted for insurance and I paid the fine. I insured the bike the second day after that. And since the accident was minor, I did not report it to DMV (under $750 in damages, no injuries). Three months after the accident, the other driver's insurance company sent me a bill for $1100 in repairs, detailing something that I did not caused (eg. headlights, interior mirror, hood ornaments and grille, front bumper damage, 2 gallons on paint(!) and a lot of expensive labor). Obviously, I refused to accept that and they reported it to DMV, which sent me a ''courtesy reminder'', saying I did not report it, asked for proof of insurance and said they might suspend it. My question is: will DMV just go by the insurance company bill? how can they suspend my car driving license when I had car insurance all the time? or will they just take the motorcycle permit I have? perfect record


Experienced California Attorneys

At the Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi we handle most types of Personal Injury Cases and Tort cases including: automobile, truck, motorcycle, pedestrian, bike, and slip and fall accidents, dog bites, wrongful death, legal malpractice, medical malpractice and products liability cases. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call 1-800-LAW-TALK.

For more information visit us at EBLegal.com


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search