California  |  Traffic Law

question bubble
10/18/09, 3:17 pm

Legal Question


Yesterday I was rear-ended by a 16-year old unlicensed driver.Instead of calling the police, I took down all her information & decided to call her parents to try and work out a payment plan to fix my mangled bumper.There was quite a language barrier since her parents did not know much English but I told her relative I would give them an estimate within a couple days. Everything seemed fine until this morning when I received a phone call from the girl's 18-year old boyfriend who began to tell me that the accident was MY fault (I guess he ignored the fact that she was the one driving illegally). He was not there at the time of the accident and I feel this was very inappropriate. After giving him a "talking-to", I decided to notify her parents.

I did not want the police nor my insurance company to be involved because I wanted to give her a chance but after she tried to sick her boyfriend on me, I'm regretting trying to be the good guy and would like to know if i can still go about this the legal way since I did not immediately report this to either the police nor my insurance company.

A. Fortuna


Experienced California Attorneys

At the Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi we handle most types of Personal Injury Cases and Tort cases including: automobile, truck, motorcycle, pedestrian, bike, and slip and fall accidents, dog bites, wrongful death, legal malpractice, medical malpractice and products liability cases. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call 1-800-LAW-TALK.

For more information visit us at EBLegal.com


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search