California  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
12/08/09, 9:27 pm

Legal Question


My great grandmother passed away a little over 7 years ago. Before her passing she had pretty much told everyone that I would be the primary recipient of all her assets and it was even admitted to my mother and uncle at her funeral by the executor(s) of her will (although they refused to show it to them). Now the problem lies here, she had appointed my great granduncle and his wife as the executors because they were the closest relatives to her, as she was living in Nevada, right before and ultimately at the time of her passing. If I was never able to see the will or given the things that were declared mine in the will (e.g. car), after 7 years am I still entitled to them? When my uncle got into contact with them a while back they had told him they sold the car. Can they legally do that? I live in California and turned 19 last year and so far have been unable to get a hold of the executors as they avoid me at all costs. What can I do to see the will and perhaps get the things my great grandmother left me?

Thank you for your time and I hope to hear from you soon.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search