California | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
my mom is on life support and doesn't have a will
My mom recently has been put on life support. She has several problems that state that she may not make it. She told my family and I that she had a will but it doesn't look like she does and if she does, we don't know how to find it. What I need to know is what kind of laws are out there to protect people in my moms position without a will. Her husband is a multiple abuser of her with a long history of abuse and jail time, her house was only in her name, she just got a car from my grandparents but didn't have it registered yet and he has full access to everything even though he knew that when she got sick they were not together. I need to know who makes the decisions for her funeral or to take her off of life support and how that will be determined without a will? I need to know how her property and things will be divided between my brother and i and her husband or how we can even find out what she had if we do not have access to anything of hers? Please help me find out what i may be responsible for or what laws state to protect her if she didn't protect herself. Thank you.


