California | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
My mother (and I) thought we were getting one thing with her estate planning, but after she recently died I learned that she did not get what she wanted. Can a life tenancy be granted along with an ownership interest in the property? We were under the impression that I would receive a life tenancy with 1/2 ownership in my mother's home. We ended up with a life tenancy (for me) and 100% remainder interest to my two siblings. My mother wanted me to receive her entire estate for helping her and I have several notes my mother wrote during the last two years of her life saying she wanted me to have everything, but the attorney says if I try to change it I will lose everything. I'm absolutely sick about the whole thing as I know my mother would be. The attorney kept telling us that my mother couldn't leave me her home because she wouldn't put her law firm through a lawsuit if my siblings protested. We were intimidated the entire time.


