California  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
3/21/02, 12:42 am

Legal Question


Rules and deadlines on Probate

My mother died last month, and my brother has given me an unsigned copy of her will dated a month earlier, naming him executor and splitting everything in half. He had her house appraised and wants to buy me out, live in it, fix it up and sell it. The appraisal seems low, and I am unsure of what his requirements as executor are, as well as what my rights are. I don't want to anger him by sending a lawyer after him, but also need to protect my position. How is he supposed to proceed, and how do I check up on him without him thinking I don't trust him?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search