Connecticut  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
11/04/09, 10:07 am

Legal Question


I am going to be filing for chapter 7 and I have selected a lawyer already but I haven't met with him yet. Before I meet with him I had a question that hopefull you can help me with to see if I even qualify to file chapter 7. I am married and I will be filing charpter 7 by myself. Theirs four people in my family; my daughter who is 21 and still in college, my 17 year son, my husband and myself. I live in connecticut and between my husband and my income we earn 83,000 a year; which meet the mediam for a family of 4 in CT. But here is the catcher I receive $1159 a month from Social Security Survivors benefit for my 17th year son which will end in June when he turns 18th. If I have to claim this income on means test the will take bring us over what the mediam is for a family of 4 by about $3000.

My questions is do I have to claim this as income?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search