Connecticut  |  Elder Law

question bubble
10/10/09, 6:11 pm

Legal Question


A caregiver for my elderly sister won't leave my apartment even though my sister is now in a nursing home. She's only been with us for 3 months and room and board was part of her pay for services for 4 hours nightly and weekends.

The poor care that she gave my sister is responsible for my sister's recent hospitalization followed by nursing home care.

The caregiver refuses to leave claiming she's protected by the law. Mind you she does not work here anymore - it's been 2 weeks. And having learned many unfavorable things about her, I, being in my 90's myself, do not want her in my home anymore.

My landlord has told her to leave. She's still here.

I went to the police today to find out where I stand legally. They recommended serving her with an eviction notice. That takes time and money.

She's a seriously disturbed woman and I do not trust her. Furthermore my sister's other caregiver is very afraid of her. My sister is ready to come home but under the circumstances, I don't see how that's possible.

She has a key to my apartment and won't give it up. She pays no rent. I don't know what to do.

Where do I stand and what can I do?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search