1. Draft a Notice to Quit. You must state a reason on the Notice to Quit. The
most frequently used reasons for evictions are nonpayment of rent and termination of lease by lapse of time.
2. In any eviction, the Notice to Quit must allow the tenant at least three full days in which to move. This means that there must be three full intervening days between the date the Notice to Quit is served on your tenant and the last day specified in the Notice to Quit for the tenant to vacate the premises. The first and last days are not counted in computing the three days.
3. Submit to a marshal or any proper officer the completed original and sufficient copies for each adult occupant and/or tenant you wish to evict. Notice must be served on each
occupant or tenant in accordance with C.G.S. § 47a-23
4. If your tenant still has not moved after the last day given in the Notice to Quit, you must return to the clerk’s office with the original Notice to Quit, the State Marshal’s Return of Service, and a completed Summons and Complaint.
5. If you cannot understand the forms, date requirements, and other technicalities, hire an attorney so that the court does not throw all your time and paperwork back at you. This is not necessarily a huge endeavor for a law office and if you have multiple units and repeat business is possible, you can probably negotiated a very good rate. It will likely save you money in the long run.
Please feel free to contact us for further information or help in evicting your tenants. 203.870.6700.
Best of luck, Max Rosenberg, Esq.