District of Columbia  |  Employment Law

question bubble
3/31/10, 5:22 pm

Legal Question


For the past few months I have been selling goods (jewelry mostly) for a man who is in Bolivia. He has not paid me in full in months, so I finally came to the conclusion I had to leave his employment. When I tried, he made some comments which I found to be threatening such as “I have a lot of friends in that area” ‘that area’ being DC. Prior to that, he offered to pay me less that half of what he owes me in a few weeks if I give him my address so he can send a friend over to pick up the merchandise. I felt very uncomfortable with the situation and did not want to give a stranger my address, or meet a stranger somewhere.

He has taken to calling me several times per day and e-mailing me. Earlier today he found my facebook and has started sending me messages there. This, I feel is completely inappropriate.

Seeing as he is in Bolivia, and to my knowledge has no plans to return, I’m not sure how this should be handled. He has threatened to call the police on me, but friends tell me there’s nothing he can do from there. I’ve considering filing against him but likewise didn’t think I’d be able to have any gain since he’s over there.

I’m not sure how to proceed. I fear if I hand over the merchandise I might never see the money I am owed or worse, I fear I might be mugged by who ever picks it up.

I really appreciate any advice on this situation.

Thank you,

-Natasha


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search