District of Columbia | Traffic Law
Legal Question
Fighting a speeding ticket and winning
I would like to obtain some information as to how to fight a speeding ticket literally. The offense took place in Washington, DC, the officer stated that I was doing 80 in a posted 35-mile zone, not true, but issued a ticket for 50 in a 35-mile zone (calls himself giving me a break). I noticed two police cruisers merging onto the parkway and immediately slowed to the posted speed limit. Problem, how is officer able to clock my speed from a different lane (I’m in the left, he’s in the right)? Moreover, other cars where passing officer. When the officer decides to pull behind me I immediately signal and change to the right lane giving the officer room to pass, when I do this the officer changes lanes too and then decides to pull me over. Would it be more effective to have a hearing by mail or in-person? I know that speedy tickets are a business, one that benefits the state and/or city and insurance companies. I’ve been driving for 20 years and have never received a speeding ticket. I know that speeding violations garner points and higher insurance premiums, none of which I want to happen. I think the real cause for bei


