District of Columbia  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
2/10/06, 2:05 pm

Legal Question


what constitute a small estate

DC law provides a ''small estate'' procedure for probating a will if the value is under $40K. My mother died and and left everything (by will) to my father. They own substantial property, investments, etc. as joint tenants with right of survivorship. Is the value of those jointly owned assets included in my mother's estate and considered toward the $40K limit? Or would only those assets she owned in her own name be included in the $40K as part of her estate?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search