Florida | Disability Law
Legal Question
I have found an apartment I can function is (I am handicapped) but the parking space is far from door. There are parking spaces right by door that others are using but there is no handicapped parking spaces there or anywhere near by? Help?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Sarah Grosse |
I believe there should be a marked handicapped space near to the door. Every apartment complex I have ever lived in had marked handicapped space(s) in the common spaces of the lot near the door. However, if all the spaces nearest the door are assigned, and you have an assigned space somewhat near the door, the marked handicapped space may not end-up being any closer to the door than your assigned space. What is required is that reasonable accommodation be made for your disability, which can be fact-specific.
Please address the issue with the prospective landlord, whether that is an apartment complex or a person. Request - and insist - that a handicapped space be marked nearest the door to accommodate you. If they refuse, please contact an attorney to discuss the remedies you may pursue. |
Top Attorneys in FL
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Behren Law Firm
Weston, FL
Questions Answered: 768
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
The Sheldon Law Firm
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 475
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-19
Law Offices of Stuart M. Address, P.A.
Stuart, FL
Questions Answered: 397
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-28
Cousins Law Firm PA
West Palm Beach, FL
Questions Answered: 140
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-28
Bonifield, Friedman & Leifer, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 48
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-20
Levine, Busch & Schnepper, P.A.
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 45
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Taggart Morton
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-02
Cannizzo & Chamberlin
Cooper City, FL
Questions Answered: 37
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-28
Russell A. Meade and Associates, PA
Venice, FL
Questions Answered: 33
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-01-25
Search Questions and Answers


