Florida | Admiralty Law
Legal Question
Florida statute 321.17 for marinas?
Under statute 328.17 can I as a marina go take possession of a boat and bring it back to the marina until claim of money owed is paid?
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Robert Gardana |
Re: Florida statute 328.17 for marinas? Negative . . . to enforce a "possessory lien," you must be in possession of the vessel, meet the criteria of the definition of marina, and abide by the procedure set forth in the statute:
Please read carefully:
(4) A marina, as defined in s. 327.02(20), shall have: [328.02(20)] provides:
"Marina" means a licensed commercial facility which provides secured public moorings or dry storage for vessels on a leased basis. A commercial establishment authorized by a licensed vessel manufacturer as a dealership shall be considered a marina for nonjudicial sale purposes.
If you are a marina fitting the above definition, then you may impose:
(a) A possessory lien upon any vessel for storage fees, dockage fees, repairs, improvements, or other work-related storage charges, and for expenses necessary for preservation of the vessel or expenses reasonably incurred in the sale or other disposition of the vessel. The possessory lien shall attach as of the date the vessel is brought to the marina or as of the date the vessel first occupies rental space at the marina facility.
(b) A possessory lien upon any vessel in a wrecked, junked, or substantially dismantled condition, which has been left abandoned at a marina, for expenses reasonably incurred in the removal and disposal of the vessel. The possessory lien shall attach as of the date the vessel arrives at the marina or as of the date the vessel first occupies rental space at the marina facility. If the funds recovered from the sale of the vessel, or from the scrap or salvage value of the vessel, are insufficient to cover the expenses reasonably incurred by the marina in removing and disposing of the vessel, all costs in excess of recovery shall be recoverable against the owner of the vessel. For a vessel damaged as a result of a named storm, the provisions of this paragraph shall be suspended for 60 days following the date the vessel is damaged in the named storm. The operation of the provisions specified in this paragraph run concurrently with, and do not extend, the 60-day notice periods provided in subsections (5) and (7).
|
|
Read More Answered By: Robert Gardana |
Re: Florida statute 328.17 for marinas? Negative . . . to enforce a "possessory lien," you must be in possession of the vessel, meet the criteria of the definition of marina, and abide by the procedure set forth in the statute:
Please read carefully:
(4) A marina, as defined in s. 327.02(20), shall have: [328.02(20)] provides:
"Marina" means a licensed commercial facility which provides secured public moorings or dry storage for vessels on a leased basis. A commercial establishment authorized by a licensed vessel manufacturer as a dealership shall be considered a marina for nonjudicial sale purposes.
If you are a marina fitting the above definition, then you may impose:
(a) A possessory lien upon any vessel for storage fees, dockage fees, repairs, improvements, or other work-related storage charges, and for expenses necessary for preservation of the vessel or expenses reasonably incurred in the sale or other disposition of the vessel. The possessory lien shall attach as of the date the vessel is brought to the marina or as of the date the vessel first occupies rental space at the marina facility.
(b) A possessory lien upon any vessel in a wrecked, junked, or substantially dismantled condition, which has been left abandoned at a marina, for expenses reasonably incurred in the removal and disposal of the vessel. The possessory lien shall attach as of the date the vessel arrives at the marina or as of the date the vessel first occupies rental space at the marina facility. If the funds recovered from the sale of the vessel, or from the scrap or salvage value of the vessel, are insufficient to cover the expenses reasonably incurred by the marina in removing and disposing of the vessel, all costs in excess of recovery shall be recoverable against the owner of the vessel. For a vessel damaged as a result of a named storm, the provisions of this paragraph shall be suspended for 60 days following the date the vessel is damaged in the named storm. The operation of the provisions specified in this paragraph run concurrently with, and do not extend, the 60-day notice periods provided in subsections (5) and (7).
|
|
Read More Answered By: Robert Gardana |
Re: Florida statute 328.17 for marinas? Negative . . . to enforce a "possessory lien," you must be in possession of the vessel, meet the criteria of the definition of marina, and abide by the procedure set forth in the statute:
Please read carefully:
(4) A marina, as defined in s. 327.02(20), shall have: [328.02(20)] provides:
"Marina" means a licensed commercial facility which provides secured public moorings or dry storage for vessels on a leased basis. A commercial establishment authorized by a licensed vessel manufacturer as a dealership shall be considered a marina for nonjudicial sale purposes.
If you are a marina fitting the above definition, then you may impose:
(a) A possessory lien upon any vessel for storage fees, dockage fees, repairs, improvements, or other work-related storage charges, and for expenses necessary for preservation of the vessel or expenses reasonably incurred in the sale or other disposition of the vessel. The possessory lien shall attach as of the date the vessel is brought to the marina or as of the date the vessel first occupies rental space at the marina facility.
(b) A possessory lien upon any vessel in a wrecked, junked, or substantially dismantled condition, which has been left abandoned at a marina, for expenses reasonably incurred in the removal and disposal of the vessel. The possessory lien shall attach as of the date the vessel arrives at the marina or as of the date the vessel first occupies rental space at the marina facility. If the funds recovered from the sale of the vessel, or from the scrap or salvage value of the vessel, are insufficient to cover the expenses reasonably incurred by the marina in removing and disposing of the vessel, all costs in excess of recovery shall be recoverable against the owner of the vessel. For a vessel damaged as a result of a named storm, the provisions of this paragraph shall be suspended for 60 days following the date the vessel is damaged in the named storm. The operation of the provisions specified in this paragraph run concurrently with, and do not extend, the 60-day notice periods provided in subsections (5) and (7).
|
Top Attorneys in FL
David P. Slater, Esq.
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7772
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Offices of Steven Meyer
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 397
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Garvin Law Firm
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Questions Answered: 227
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-04
Morgan & Morgan, P.A.
Davie, FL
Questions Answered: 117
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-03-04
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Law Offices of Richard Vaughan, Esq.
Melbourne, FL
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-11
Aronberg & Aronberg, Injury Law Firm
Delray Beach, FL
Questions Answered: 23
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-24
Robert L. Gardana, PA
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 22
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-12
Accident Victims Rights Attorney Jason Turchin, Esq
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 19
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-01-05
Search Questions and Answers


