Florida | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
My wife has a business, things have gotten bad. She started putting things on a credit card it was to be in the corporation name, now they are coming after her.
Am I responsible For her debt ? Mr worried
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Sarah Grosse |
The corporation debt should be insulated from your personal debt, i.e. you should not be liable for the corporation's debt. The corporation is legally a separate person. If the corporation tanks, you - and your wife as President (assumption) - should not be liable for business debts if/when declaring bankruptcy.
If your wife becomes personally liable for the corporation's debt, and she incurred the debt during your marriage, then you would be liable for half.
It should be okay, but be sure to consult with an attorney in person before and if shit hits the fan. |
Top Attorneys in FL
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Rosenfeld & Stein, P.A.
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 1896
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-24
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
William W. Gwaltney, Attorneys at Law
Tallahassee, FL
Questions Answered: 928
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Law Offices of Steven Meyer
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 397
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Rosenblum Law Offices
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
Corporate Transactions, LLC (A Private Law Firm)
Miami Beach, FL
Questions Answered: 243
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-25
The Law Office of John W. Harmon
Cambridge, MA
Questions Answered: 178
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-02
Law Office of Gordon T. Nicol
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 138
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-05-26
Search Questions and Answers


