Florida | Business Law
Legal Question
What is a 'S" corporation?
What is a 'S" corporation?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Edward J. Chandler |
What is a 'S" corporation? What is a 'S" corporation?
"S" corporations have the same basic advantages and disadvantages of "C" corporations with the added benefit of a special tax provision which allows all profit or loss of the company to "pass through" to the personal 1040s of the stockholders. When a "C" corporation makes a profit, on the other hand, it pays a federal corporate income tax on the profit. If the company then declares a dividend, the shareholders must report the dividend as personal income and pay more taxes. This is commonly referred to as a "double tax" (once at the corporate level and again at the personal level) which "S" corporations avoid altogether. Law requires all "S" corporations to be domestic, have less than 75 stockholders who are US citizens, issue only one class of stock, and derive no more than 25 percent of gross corporate income from passive activities. To get an "S" corporation requires completing IRS Form 2553. |
Top Attorneys in FL
David P. Slater, Esq.
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Offices of Scott R. Jay
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Rosenfeld & Stein, P.A.
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 1896
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-24
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Richard J. Kaplan, P.A.
Coral Springs, FL
Questions Answered: 968
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
William W. Gwaltney, Attorneys at Law
Tallahassee, FL
Questions Answered: 928
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Robert Brian Roemer LLC
Palm Beach Gardens,
Questions Answered: 760
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Sanford M. Martin, P.A.
Naples, FL
Questions Answered: 582
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Search Questions and Answers


