Florida  |  Business Law

question bubble
6/08/09, 9:28 pm

Legal Question


sensitive documents mailed prior to first meeting

I am introducing a new product and have a (free) consultation meeting scheduled with an attorney. We will discuss the product and cover a range of topics, from legal issues to the product in general. This lawyer is also an entrepreneur in my field and sometimes serves as an advisor and mentor on projects that are similar to mine. 1-2 weeks before we are scheduled to meet, I will email or mail the lawyer documents related to the product (market research, illustrations, etc.). Should I ask the lawyer sign an NDA prior to sending the documents, or are the contents of the documents protected by attorney-client privilege? If an NDA is unnecessary, is there anything that I should do (like including a notice of some sort) to make sure the documents are treated as confidential information?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search