Florida | Business Law
Legal Question
Had a small restaurant in Florida and closed it do to restructuring of lease. Could not come to terms with landlord on lease, so I closed the business in May 2009.
Today I received a renewal for the business license for the restaurant (DBPR). I called the DBPR and was made aware that the landlord paid the fee and the late fee for the business license(under our business name).
Do I have any liability here, and is the landlord trying to cause me difficulties in the future?
Please advise.
There must be more to this story because I cannot imagine why a former landlord would pay for a former tenant's business license. You can email me the rest of the story if you want.
Sarah - I have spoke with other business owners on the beach and was told that if the landlord lets the location (restaurant) not be rented for a year, he will lose certain rights by the city and he may not be able to use the space as a restaurant any longer.
The space is part of a bed in breakfast on Ft Myers beach, and has been vacant since May of 2009. I do not want to get in touch with the landlord until I know what my recourse is with dealing with the landlord, or the town.
Any information would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for replying.


