Florida  |  Civil Rights Law

question bubble
6/20/08, 8:03 pm

Legal Question


Minority Shareholder/ Forgery on a Loans

Hello,

I'm a minority shareholder and a BOD in a family business. I'm being oppressed by the majority shareholder and they refuse to provide any company documents revealing the true net asset value of the company. The majority shareholder has repeatedly tried to buy me out for no more than my original investment. Furthermore, I am the guarantor on 5 different very large loans. I have since found out that a year later the majority shareholder took out an additional 12 loans and forged my name as the guarantor and submitted my identification documents which he wrongfully obtained. He has informed me that he will have all the forged loans very soon so that I can't have any claim against him. He refuses to pay off the loans I actually signed because he is using them against me to force my to sell out for nothing. Once the forged loans are paid off, do I have any recourse against him for fraudulently forging them, using my identity, and paying off the forged loans (because he's liable) before he pays off the loans I previously signed ? Can I hold him liable for the loans I signed? Am I liable for his fraud? I'm afraid that if I report him to the banks, he'll go bankrupt and I'll be forced to pay the loans out of my pocket


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search