Florida  |  Technology Law

question bubble
1/11/10, 12:47 pm

Legal Question


Hello,

I am owed $3,500 from a web hosting company that we do business with. They are located in VA, but I am located in FL.

We send them new customers (by way of referral) and they send us commission checks monthly. They have not paid, are not answering support tickets/emails and not returning calls. I have all proof of tickets and phone calls, including the amount they owe me (as shown on their own website via their affiliate manager!).

I was going to file through small claims court, but there seems to be a question of venue. Do I file in VA? Or FL?

The contract was an online form that I filed out in FL. They do business all over the world. I have referred them customers from FL, as well as all over the US.

What should I be filing? No attorney in this area will take as they said the amount is so small. However, $3500 is not small to me - especially when my wife and I are in the middle of taking out a $25,000 loan for adoption (we are both young, but unable to have children naturally)!

So, here are my questions...

1. Should I file through small claims court?

2. If so, should I file in FL?

3. Do I need an attorney?

I have never done anything through the courts before... this is all new to me.

Thank you.. I do appreciate any advice.

Rob


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search