Florida  |  Constitutional Law

question bubble
8/12/04, 10:45 pm

Legal Question


US vs State Residency

Is there a requirement to have a permanent residency in the US? Can a person just be a US resident? Or, to be a US resident, do I have to choose a state.

I am a US citizen, retired, with US income with no home address. I live on a sailboat travelling around the world. When I come to the US, I have to lie on the imm. form regarding residence (as I did on your info request). I don't want to pay state taxes in a state I don't live in. I would like a US driver's license if I am allowed to not be a particular state resident.

This question about US vs State opens too big a box when I look at US vs World citizenship. Many cruisers haven't been to their homelands in years but we are required to carry passports of our former lives.

I have searched the net and see no requirement to ''pick a state'', so I wander as a stateless US citizen.

Any help??

Thank you for your consideration in this matter.

--name removed--


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search