Florida | Construction Law
Legal Question
Someone hired us to come in and do some work. While performing our service, we discovered a pre-existing condition that has stalled our efforts to complete the job. Can they sue us over the delay?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Sarah Grosse |
Maybe or maybe not. You will have to look to the contract which was signed for the work. But, even absent a contract, if unforseen circumstances presented themselves, additional cost and time may be agreed to by the client. You need to put in writing the additional pre-existing condition which was found, and provide in writing any additional work or cost that may be incurred which must be agreed to by the client. However, you were not specific whether the delay is "reasonable", so no one can really say whether it is or not. I can think of circumstances in which it may be reasonable and circumstances under which it may be unreasonable. |
Top Attorneys in FL
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Gilbert & Caddy P.A.
Hollywood, FL
Questions Answered: 582
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-02
Law Offices of Steven Meyer
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 397
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
The Law Office of Barry W. Kaufman
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 220
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Cousins Law Firm PA
West Palm Beach, FL
Questions Answered: 140
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-28
Law Office of Gordon T. Nicol
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 138
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-05-26
Law Offices of Stephen Orchard
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-10
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Norton, Hammersley, Lopez & Skokos, P.A.
Sarasota, FL
Questions Answered: 58
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-08-16
Search Questions and Answers


