Florida  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
1/23/09, 11:33 pm

Legal Question


Bill of sale - too much info wanted by seller

I want to buy a used car from what I thought was a private seller - turns out the car is owned by his corporation. Seller is trying to say that he needs a copy of my drivers license and proof on insurance to sell me the car AND he wants to KEEP the copy after the sale - he says the bill of sale is 8 pages long and is also charging a fee of almost $200 to fill out the papers. Seller insists he can register the car in my name without me being present and I have to make the check out to him for vehicle price, taxes and tag fees. DMV says he cannot register a car in my name w/o PoA.

Forgive me if I'm mistaken but I feel like this is a scam because I don't believe a private seller needs to maintain permanent info - or even have it in the first place of the private buyer. Please help. thanks


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search