Florida  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
11/14/08, 9:50 pm

Legal Question


Contract signed by under 18yo

I'm in Florida. My 17yo daughter fell into a sales pitch to sign a 1 year contract with a personal service company 2 months prior to turning 18yo. It's now 1.5 months after her 18th birthday. She used her personal check card. The sales person never asked for her age or proof of such. As matter of fact, she only has a passport for ID, and it is kept in the safe. Spoke with management, who stated that they are not required to ask for age and as long as a credit card is presented, they can obtain the contract. The company has withdrawn 3 payment so far. They are not willing to stop the contract and reverse the charges. 1) Is the contract legal. 2) Can they enforce the contract?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search