Legal Question in Criminal Law in Florida

Dropping of charges

I was charged with 1 count of filing a fraudulent insurance claim and one count of Grand Theft. When the arraignment came around they dropped the ''fraudulent'' insurance claim charge and kept the Grand Theft charge. How is that possible?? First of all I never got paid for the claim I filed and second, if I they dropped the charge for the fraudulent insurance claim how could I have committed Grand Theft?? I'm at a loss and my public defender is unreachable. Any explanation somebody could give me would be of great help.

Thank you.

Asked on 7/10/06, 2:22 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Valerie Masters Valerie Masters, P.A.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Dropping of charges

They basically can charge or not charge whatever they want. What they can prove is another story. I wouldnt read into it

Read more
7/10/06, 3:29 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88333 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now