My husband was arrested on Dec. 12, 2007 and taken to jail on battery charges but it is now March 21, 2008 and no charges have been pressed by the victim nor by the state. So I am wondering how long does the stated have to press charges?? Also how long can they hold him in jail if charges haven't been pressed against him?
1 Answer from Attorneys
Re: How long?
The State has 90 days to file charges if the case is a misdemeanor, or 175 days to file charges if the charge is a felony.
However, if they have not filed charges within 33 days, your husbanc can be asked to be released on his own recognizance pending teh formal filing of charges.
You need to get an attorney. I am willing to bet they have filed harges, as I can't imagine him beingheld that long without charges being filed.
Related Questions & Answers
How long??? how long can a peraon be held in jail and charges are not pressed by... Asked 3/21/08, 1:15 pm in United States Florida Criminal Law
Accused of molestation My ex-girlfriends daughter (age 5) has accused me of... Asked 3/21/08, 2:54 am in United States Florida Criminal Law
Possession of auto law question bought a truck off ebay 7 months ago, titled it... Asked 3/20/08, 5:49 pm in United States Florida Criminal Law
Arraignment what happed during or after an arraignment Asked 3/20/08, 4:10 pm in United States Florida Criminal Law
Paraphile What would be the legal procedure if back in 2001 someone of 22 got... Asked 3/20/08, 12:38 pm in United States Florida Criminal Law